

NSSA newsbits

A joint symposium: the evolution of diets

On 17 October 2019 the Northern Branch hosted a joint symposium with the Food Evolution Research Laboratory (FERL) from the University of Johannesburg. The theme of the symposium was "The evolution of diets: how will technology impact our eating habits?" Symposium speakers were invited from different areas of interest including hospitality, dietetics and geography. The following topics were presented:

- Food systems for sustainable diets: transforming theoretical and practical approaches in nutrition (Dr Nicole Claasen & Dr Herman Myburgh – North West University)
- The fourth industrial revolution and the future of food systems (Ms Linda Drummond – Registered Dietitian and Nutrition Consultant)
- Measuring the retail food environment in Johannesburg: the use of Geographic Information Systems (Dr Bianca van der Westhuizen – Unisa)
- Promoting healthier meals in restaurants (Ms Akhona Melani – University of Johannesburg)
- Food processing: friend or foe of obesity (Ms Rebone Ntsie – Department of Health)
- Nutrient profiling: a useful tool to combat obesity (Dr Mariaan Wicks – North West University)
- Improvement of indigenous foods consumption in eating habits: the next technology challenge in South Africa for diet-related diseases prevention (Dr Alex Dimitri

Tchuenchieu Kamgain – University of Johannesburg)

 Do institutional deliveries affect infant and young child feeding (IYCF) practices? (Dr Angeline Jeyakumar -Savitribai Pule Pune University, India).



NSSA Northern Branch Committee: Ms Marlise Korff, Dr Tertia van Zyl, Dr Bianca van der Westhuizen, Dr Zelda de Lange and Dr Elize Symington (Chairperson of the NSSA). Absent: Ms Maria van der Merwe

NSSA Council Strategic Breakaway

NSSA Council meets face-to-face once a year. A strategic breakaway session and council meeting were held 10–11 February 2020 in Boksburg. Council will provide members with more detail about the strategic breakaway throughout the year.

From left to right: Dr Elize Symington (Chairperson); Mr Gilbert Tshitaudzi (elected council member); Dr Bianca van der Westhuizen (Northern Bran ch Chairperson); Prof. Corinna Walsh (President); Prof. Maretha Opperman (Cape Branch Chairperson); Ms Jacqui Lochner (Admin secretary); Prof. Ali Dhansay (elected council member). Members unable to attend: Dr Averalda van Graan (Honorary secretary); Pro.f. André Oelofse (elected council member) and MsThobekile Dlamuka (Eastern Branch Chairperson)

